Lost in Dream

To Little Miss Joy with love

In my dreams I always lose you,

as if I need the reminder.

your absence hangs in the air around me,

each breath I take sparks memories

that jolt across my mind

but ultimately slip away when I exhale.

In my dream last night,

or perhaps it was the early hours of morning,

I fought and ran and clung to you,

desperate to keep you with me,

with all of us.

I forget sometimes,

consumed by my own loss and heartbreak,

that others lost you too,

and that we will always love you,

and miss you.

The only thing I hope for,

is to meet you once again,

not lost in dreams,

but  beautifully, tangibly,

here,

with me.

Leave a Reply

