A Portrait of The Artist As a Young Black Girl

THANK YOU

I’m writing this not only to introduce the longest poem I’ve ever written but also to express my love and admiration for the different artists and people that have inspired me to write it.

This poem started out as a school project but quickly became an opportunity for personal exploration and expression. So I thank my professor for challenging and encouraging me to write this.

I would also like to name the various authors and books that led to this creation through their constant inspiration and truth.

A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man by James Joyce

Winesburg, Ohio by Sherwood Anderson

Invisible Man by Ralph Waldo Ellison

Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston

Plum Bun by Jessie R. Fauset

I divided this poem in sections and perhaps later I will publish it as one full post. But for now, please enjoy the little truths of my life I’ve composed in poem.

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

