Snowfall

The snow falls in windy disarray,

gathering in small, disorderly heaps on the ground,

I watch it from a distance,

with a warm mug clutched in my hands.

The first snowfall is always magical,

My inner child would leap with joy,

And I would out stick my tongue to catch a snowflake.

 A month until Christmas would seem too far away,

but seeing the snow fall now makes my heart ache,

In a way it never has before.

I know the snow won’t stay,

It’s still too early and I don’t have winter boots,

But the childlike wonder I once had is missing,

And I think this may be the beginning of the end.

No holiday spirit or anticipation,

Just another holiday corrupted by capitalism,

And I know I’ve become too cynical for my age.

One comment

  1. breakingsarah · November 24, 2015

    I think that has to be how many of us feel. HUGS!!

Leave a Reply

