Onward

1.

It’s hard to move forward,

And easier to look back,

Happiness is everywhere,

But still somehow inaccessible.

2.

I thought I wasn’t allowed to be happy,

To feel at peace with myself,

Because I was tainted,

Because I still am.

3.

But then I saw the truth,

A little glimmer of hope I had previously ignored,

Happiness is for anyone,

Anyone willing to fight for it.

4.

So here I am,

Fighting,

I’ll fight the demons that were once my kin,

I’ll shed my past like a reptile,

And I’ll walk toward the light.

5.

It’s coming from the sky,

That’s where I’m heading,

I’m heading onward,

Forward,

To-ward happiness.

Leave a Reply

