I Am NOT Yours

All this time, all my life,

I’ve let you rule me.

Everything I am, everything I do,

Is under your control.

Never have I spoken,

Have I thought or taken breath,

Without it being wished by you.

Always scared,

Always cautious of everything I do.

Hoping never to offend you,

To discredit or displease you,

Knowing you rely entirely on me,

For your happiness.

I am yours, I am yours, I am yours.

I am your doll,

lifeless and feeble with your attention,

I am your puppet,

silent and wooden without your instruction,

I am your child,

Desperately seeking your approval,

Your acceptance,

Your love.

Eighteen years;

It’s taken my that long

To realize I can’t.

I can’t be your doll,

your puppet,

your child.

I can’t be your mouthpiece

or your mirror.

I can’t be you.

I am not yours, I am not yours, I am not yours.

Leave a Reply

